Thread: New member in the Southeast

Rookie Member

New member in the Southeast

An engineer by profession and longtime car enthusiast. I have, since being very young, had an interest in kit cars in general especially the Mirage.
    I am interested in seeing what project cars are available and what updates work and are desireable. I am interested in putting together a state of the art car.

Boy, that last sentence can elicit a huge number of responses. I've tried to put together a SotA car, with a strong emphasis on the suspension configuration of the '60s sports racers. Take a gander if you have time by clicking on the signature. This included upgraded corners, EFI, Porsche transaxle, and a bunch of other things to make it a very well-mannered car on the street and confident on the track.

Rookie Member
    I'm going to go thru the pics in detail. Looks very impressive!
    I would very much want to get rid of the VW/Corvair suspension bits and use double A arms front/rear; use a modern all aluminum FI engine (probably an LT3), and a modern Porsche 6 speed transaxle. Very moderate F/R spring rates (about 125 # / 150#) so it actually rides good.

Even with a 100% motion ratio, a 125-150 lb spring will be at the very lower end of a usable spring. IMHO, dampers are more important than spring rate in determining a "good" ride. My motion ratios vary between high 70% to mid 80% range, which I think is more realistic. I started with 250 in front, and eventually rested at 350 lb springs on the front, using the QA1 double adjustable dampers on a 5 (out of 16) setting, with even heavier springs at the rear.
    Last edited by Blueovalz; 12-09-2019 at 05:52 PM.

Rookie Member
    Probably very true. It all depends on how/where/what angle the spring is attached to the suspension.